< back to articles

8 winners honored at ISAE-SUPAERO Awards Ceremony

Published on

18 Dec 2023

On December 8, 2023, at the ISAE-SUPAERO Awards Ceremony, the Foundation presented 6 thesis prizes, as well as, for the second year running, the Jean Pierson Leadership Award, introduced in 2022.

The next day, during the Engineering Graduation Ceremony, a graduating student also received the Paul Alain Lamy Award.

Congratulations to the 8 winners of the ISAE-SUPAERO Foundation 2023 Awards!

📷 Photos


The Prix Jean Pierson, an exceptional award in honor of Jean Pierson (1940-2021), who graduated from ISAE-SUPAERO in 1963, was created by ISAE-SUPAERO to honor an ISAE-SUPAERO student each year.

Launched in 2022 by the ISAE-SUPAERO Foundation, this award pays tribute to Jean Pierson, a man with a particularly inspiring personality. It is thanks to the initiative and the donations of friends, former collaborators and family members of Jean Pierson as well as the support of companies in which he worked with ardor and panache, that this prize was created.

Following the nomination of 17 candidates by teachers, other students or teachers of internships, they were able to submit their applications which were examined by the jury. After shortlisting three candidates and holding video-conference discussions with each of them, the jury deliberated to select just one.

Elena López-Contreras Gonzalez, a 2023 ISAE-SUPAERO engineering graduate, was this year’s recipient of the 20,000 euro Jean Pierson Leadership Award.

Congratulations to the winner!

Nordine Ouabdesselam, Elena López-Contreras Gonzalez and Christian Scherer


On Friday December 8, six prizewinners received a 750 euro Thesis Award, in recognition of the quality of their work during their doctoral years. Each of them has detailed in a few words the subject of their thesis and the recorded versions can be found on the Foundation’s Youtube channel here


Congratulations to


  • Ervan Kassarian, whose thesis topic was: ” LFT modeling of flexible multi-body systems. Application to mechanical co-design / line-of-sight control for stratospheric balloons “.
    His thesis in video




  • Ludovic Thomas, whose thesis topic was: ” Analysis of the consequences on latency limits of combinations of scheduling, redundancy and synchronization mechanisms in real-time networks “.
    His thesis in video


  • Thomas Jaroslawski, whose thesis topic was ” Growth of disturbances in laminar separation bubbles “. Thomas is currently working as a postdoctoral researcher at Standford University (California), and was present at the awards ceremony via videoconference. Erwin R. Gowree, Professor of Aerodynamics at ISAE-SUPAERO and supervisor of his thesis, received the award.
    His thesis in video
Thomas Jaroslawski, Jean-Louis Marcé, Ervan Kassarian, Valerian Palanque, Corentin Lubeigt, Ludovic Thomas, Erwin R. Gowree, Quentin Gibaru and Agnès Trincal


Alexandre CHABAILLE D’AUVIGNY, a student in his final year of the X-HEC Entrepreneurs double degree program, receives the Paul Lamy Prize for his commitment throughout his studies. During his studies, he was very active and involved in the life of his graduating class. In particular, he was elected President of the 2020-2021 Students’ Bureau.

Extremely motivated and showing great curiosity for the business world, he launched into entrepreneurship in early 2023 by creating the startup SOLTEO: an all-in-one solar project management software, designed to free up the time of photovoltaic professionals. The Foundation has also recognized his entrepreneurial qualities by awarding him a “Jeunes Pousses Entrepreneuriat” grant in 2023.

Congratulations to Alexandre CHABAILLE D’AUVIGNY for this award.

Created in memory of Paul Alain Lamy (S 1995), who died prematurely in 2002, this prize is financed by his partner and friend, Florent Moïse and his wife Andréa.

Jean-Louis Marcé and Alexandre Chabaille D’Auvigny

Photo Gallery

Photo credit: Aude Lemarchand / ISAE-SUPAERO